v‘r( Attention Motor Vehicle Dealers:

Texas Department A New State Law Takes Effect July 1, 2025

of Motor Vehicles
Eliminates six (6) paper tags and Requires dealers to use webDEALER
permits to submit transactions
Creates four (4) new metal license Requires dealers to submit a Vehicle
plates to replace eliminated paper Transfer Notification (VTN) at the
tags and permits time of sale or trade-in to a dealer
Changes how license plates are Allocates metal license plate
handled after a sale or transfer inventory based on sales

Complete Details: TxDMV.gov/HB718 or TxDMV.gov/dealers




vk Attention Motor Vehicle Dealers:

Texas Department A New State Law Takes Effect July 1, 2025

of Motor Vehicles
T As of July 1, 2025, dealers must submit all transactions using
webDEALER

Dealers without webDEALER accounts will not be able to
complete sales transactions beginning July 1, 2025

Dealers are required to complete mandatory webDEALER
training




v‘r( Attention Motor Vehicle Dealers:

Texas Department A New State Law Takes Effect July 1, 2025

of Motor Vehicles

As of July 1, 2025, dealers must submit all title and registration

transactions using webDEALER

Dealers without webDEALER accounts will not be able to
complete sales transactions beginning July 1, 2025

TxDMV offers online TxDMV.aIso

webDEALER training 24/7 off.er.s live

in English and Spanish: training ;:
webinars: Calendar

Complete Details: TxDMV.gov/HB718 or TXDMV.gov/dealers




Changes to Texas License Plates Begin July 1, 2025

" |ssued by county tax offices or TxDMV

NEW Temporary . :
. _ Regional Service Centers
Registration Plate
"wo TEXAS ° | " Replaces paper one-trip and 30-day
_I_ M"“I"i"‘i"“‘B"“ﬁB B permits; safety inspection not required

L — " (Can be used for export sales

Complete Details: TxDMV.gov/HB718




Changes to Texas License Plates Begin July 1, 2025

NEW Buyer " Issued by a dealer if the applicable
Provisional Plate license plate type is not available in

~

< their inventory

l BUYER PROVISIONAL

BY R 1 B B B B " Expires 7 days after permanent plates

LIMITED USE PLATE @& A are aSSIgned

Complete Details: TxDMV.gov/HB718




Changes to Texas License Plates Begin July 1, 2025

NEW Out-of-State " |ssued by a dealer for a vehicle sold
to an out-of-state buyer

Buyer Plate
(¥~ TEXAS = | " Valid for 60 days
OUT OF STATE BUYER
U S B 1 B BB B " Plates do not need to be returned
%, & LIMITED USEPLATE = J after eXpiration

Complete Details: TxDMV.gov/HB718




Changes to Texas License Plates Begin July 1, 2025

NEW Dealer Temporary ™
Limited Use Plate

-~

. TEXAS 5

DEALER TEMPORARY

DLR1BBBB

@ LIMITED USE PLATE = u

S -

Dealers: Submit your plate application
now through your eLICENSING account ®

Used by dealers for test drives, loaner vehicles, or
transporting vehicles

Cannot be used by dealers for personal use of
vehicles

Does not replace existing standard dealer plates

$10 each upon issuance

Complete Details: TxDMV.gov/HB718




Changes to Texas License Plates Begin July 1, 2025

# TEXAS " Dealers issue permanent
.ABC"]_ZB metal plates at point of sale
N %Y 1 " Most temporary paper permits

”.90 41 are eliminated

Complete Details: TxDMV.gov/HB718




Changes to Texas License Plates Begin July 1, 2025

" Dealers are required to remove general-issue * TexAsé‘j
license plates upon trade-in or sale to the dealer | ABC*]_Z

" General-issue plates may be transferred to another vehicle of the
same type sold by the dealer within 10 days, or must be destroyed

" Sellers in a private-party sale may retain their plates and transfer
them to another vehicle of the same type they own, with approval

Complete Details: TxDMV.gov/HB718




Changes to Texas License Plates Begin July 1, 2025

When a vehicle is sold, specialty
and qualifying plates always

remain with the seller | DVUIBBB k J_U 3[:0["-

# TEXAS “,

ABC~1234

% TEXAS | |1 TEXAS 17

6 TEXAS & | |5 “TEXAS - &

Sellers in a private-party sale may retain their
general-issue plates and transfer them to another
vehicle of the same type they own, with approval

Complete Details: TxDMV.gov/HB718
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a0
!‘

Vehicle Transfer Notifications (VTNs)

For private sales, submit within 30 days of the vehicle’s date of transfer
to its new owner using form VTR-346 or online: TxDMV.gov/VTN

Protect yourself from liability for criminal or civil acts involving the new
owner, such as toll violations

Beginning July 1, 2025, motor vehicle dealers are required to submit a
VTN for you within 30 days if you sell or trade in a vehicle

More Information: TxDMV.gov/motorists/buying-or-selling-a-vehicle
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