
30 days pass 

 

14 days pass 
10 days pass 

Vehicle Storage Facility (VSF) obtains possession in 
conjunction with a non-consent private property or 

law enforcement tow. 

First Notice: VSF notifies owner and any applicable 
lienholder(s) by certified mail, return receipt, or 

electronic certified mail (or newspaper publication, if 
applicable). First Notice must be made within 5 days 

of obtaining possession (if registered in Texas) or 
within 14 days (if registered out of state). 

Second Notice: VSF notifies the 
owner(s) and any applicable 

lienholder(s) not earlier than the 
15th day and before the 21st day 

after First Notice. 

Vehicle can be sold at public 
sale to the highest bidder if 
the charges remain unpaid. 

Purchaser files title 
application with county tax 

assessor-collector. 

Application includes: 

1) Form 130-U
2) Form VTR-265-VSF
3) Title and/or Registration Verification 
4) Proof of Notifications (Mailing or Publication) 

Note: Proof of Delivery Is Not Required 
Note: NMVTIS Report Required if Publication Is Made

5) Liability Insurance 
6) Out of State Vehicles (if applicable):

a. Texas Vehicle Inspection Report
b. Weight Certificate (Commercial Vehicle) 

If transferred from an SSF: 
7) Copy of signed rental agreement between the 

SSF and tenant authorizing the transfer of vehicle 
to a licensed VSF 

8) Proof of Notice of Claim sent to tenant by SSF 
(verified mail or email). 

9) Completed Self-Service Storage Facility Lien 
Foreclosure (Form VTR-265-SSF) 

Detailed explanation of procedures and requirements can be found in the TxDMV Motor Vehicle Title Manual or on page 2 of Form VTR-265-VSF. 

VSF notifies law enforcement the 
vehicle has been abandoned not 

earlier than the 11th day after First 
Notice if notification is required by 

law enforcement. 

Vehicle may be sold at public sale on or after the 
31st day after the Second Notice or Law 
Enforcement Notice (if required), whichever is later. 

REVISION: SEPTEMBER 2021 

Special Note: Effective September 1, 2021 

Law enforcement sends notice 
within 10 days, if applicable. 

VSF takes possession of a vehicle from a Self-Service 
Storage Facility (SSF). *Additional conditions required, 

see #7-9 below. 


