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Texas Department
of Motor Vehicles Dealership Premises Checklist

Franchised and Independent (GDN) Dealers must establish and maintain all premises requirements in Texas
Administrative Code § 215.140 at their business location for the duration of their license. Please use the below checklist
as a tool to help ensure that your location meets TxDMV requirements. A full list of statutes and rules can be
reviewed on the TxDMV website at www.txdmv.gov/statutes-and-rules.

O

O

O

Business Hours. Retail dealers must be open at least four days per week for at least four consecutive hours per
day, and wholesale dealers must be open at least two weekdays per week for at least two consecutive hours
per day. Dealers cannot be open solely by appointment. Hours must be:

O Posted at the main entrance of the dealer’s office.

O Include days & hours for all 7 days of the week.

Business Sign (Retail Dealer). A business sign meeting the following requirements must be displayed at the
physical address:
O Letters at least six inches in height showing the business name or assumed name.
O Visible to the public within 100 feet of the main entrance to the business office.
O Made of durable, weather-resistant material. Banners are not acceptable. Note: A dealer may use a
temporary banner if they provide proof that a sigh meeting requirements has been ordered and submits
a statement that the sign will be promptly and permanently mounted upon delivery.
O Permanently mounted by being either bolted to an exterior building wall or bolted/welded to a
dedicated sign pole or sign support permanently installed in the ground.

Business Sign (Wholesale Dealer). A wholesale dealer with an exterior business sign must meet the same
requirements as listed above for a retail dealer. In addition, the exterior sign must also include the statement
that "Purchasers must be Licensed Dealers" in letters at least three inches in height. If the wholesale dealer’s
office is located in an office building and an outside sign is not permitted, an interior sign meeting the following
requirements must be displayed:

O Letters at least two inches in height showing the business name or assumed name. The sign must also
include the statement that "Purchasers must be Licensed Dealers" in letters at least one inch in height.

O Mounted on or beside the main door to the dealer’s office and visible to the public within 10 feet of the
entrance to the dealer’s office.

O Made of durable material with lettering that cannot be changed. Banners are not acceptable. Note: A
dealer may use a temporary banner if they provide proof that a sign meeting requirements has been
ordered and submits a statement that the sign will be promptly and permanently mounted upon
delivery.

O Permanently mounted by being either bolted or otherwise permanently affixed to the main door or
nearby wall of the dealer’s office.

Office (General). Each dealer must have a private office space that meets the following general requirements:
O Located in a building with a permanent roof and connecting exterior walls on all sides.
O Not located in a residence, apartment, hotel, motel, rooming house, or any room or building not open to
the public. Not virtual or provided by a subscription service for office space/services.
O Not located in a restaurant, gas station, or convenience store, unless the office has a separate entrance
door that does not require a dealer's customer to pass through the other business.

Office (Specifications & Equipment). At a minimum, a dealer’s office must have the following:
O At least 100 square feet of interior floor space, exclusive of hallways, closets, or restrooms.
O Minimum of seven-foot-high ceiling.
O A door that can close to allow a dealer and customer to safely access the office and conduct business in
private while seated.
O Equipped with a desk and two chairs.
O Have working internet access.
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O Office (Shared Location). A maximum of four retail dealers or eight wholesale dealers may be located in the same
building. Retail dealers and wholesale dealers cannot be located in the same building. If a dealer is housed with
another business, including another dealer, the following requirements must be met:

O Each dealer’s office must have permanent interior walls on all sides and be separate from any public area
used by another business.

O If a person conducts business as a dealer at the same location as another business not owned by the
dealer, each business must have a separate lease agreement, telephone number, business sign, private
office space, and office equipment.

O If a person conducts business as a dealer but also owns another business with the same business name at
the location (example: ABC Car Sales & Tire Repairs), the same telephone number may be used for both
businesses. If the name of the dealer differs from the name of the other business, a separate telephone
listing and a separate business sign for each business is required.

O Municipal Zoning Requirements. A dealer’s location must comply with all municipal ordinances, including zoning
requirements. If required for the location, a dealer must obtain a certificate of occupancy o certificate of
compliance.

O Must be in the dealer’s name or the dealer’s business name.
O Must include use of motor vehicle sales.
O Must include the full physical address, including any suite or building #, if applicable.

[0 Lease Requirements. If the business location is not owned by the dealer, the dealer must maintain a lease that
meets the following requirements:
O Continuous during the period of time for which the license is issued (typically 2 years for GDN licenses).
0 Be on a properly executed form containing the following information:
O Name of the property owner as lessor and dealer as tenant/lessee
O Period of time for which the lease is valid
0 Street address of the business location
O Signature of the property owner as lessor and dealer as tenant/lessee
O If the property owner is not the lessor, must also obtain a signed and notarized statement from the
property owner containing the following information:
O Property owner’s full name, email & mailing address, & phone number
O Confirmation from the property owner that the dealer is authorized to sublease the location for
the purpose of operating a vehicle sales business.

O Display Space. A wholesale dealer is not required to have a display space. Aretail dealer must have an area
designated as inventory display space that meets the following requirements:

0 Located at the dealer’s physical business address.

O Of sufficient size to display at least five vehicles of the type for which the GDN is issued.

O Reserved exclusively for inventory - may not be used for customer parking, employee parking, general
storage, public parking area, or another dealer's display area. May not be on a public easement, right-of-
way, or driveway.

O Adequately illuminated if the dealer is open at night so that a vehicle for sale can be properly inspected
by a potential buyer.

O If the business location houses gasoline pumps or a charging station, the display may not interfere with
access to or from the gasoline pumps, fuel tanks, charging station, or fire prevention equipment.

O If the location is shared with another business, the display space must be separated from the other
business's display or parking area by a material object or barrier that cannot be easily moved by one
person and typically weighs more than 50 pounds on all sides except for the space necessary to allow for
entry and exit of vehicle inventory.

O License and Bond Notice Display. After licensure, a dealer must display their GDN license and bond notice in an area that

is easily accessible and readable by the public at each licensed location.
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