Increased Application Processing Times
Please be advised that the Motor Vehicle Division has implemented a number of new processes to prevent fraudulent access to vehicle regulatory processes. These processes have resulted in an increase in application processing times. Dealers may submit renewal applications up to 90 days in advance of their license expiration date. We strongly recommend submission of renewal applications as early as possible.
Fingerprinting Now Required for Certain Dealer License Holders
On June 30, 2022, the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles adopted rules requiring certain new applicants and existing dealer license holders to be fingerprinted (43 Tex. Admin. Code § 211.6). Applications submitted on or after September 1, 2022, will be subject to the new fingerprint requirement.
The following dealer applicants and license holders are subject to this requirement:
- Franchised Motor Vehicle Dealer
- Independent Motor Vehicle Dealer
- Wholesale Motor Vehicle Dealer
- Motorcycle Dealer
- House Trailer Dealer (“House Trailer” includes “Travel Trailer” and “Towable Recreational Vehicle”)
- Trailer or Semi-Trailer Dealer
- Independent Mobility Motor Vehicle Dealer
For more detailed information on the fingerprinting requirements, including FAQs, please visit TxDMV’s Fingerprinting resource page here.
The surety bond requirements for independent GDN dealers are changing under the 87th Legislature’s House Bill 3533. On September 1, 2021, the surety bond amount is increasing to $50,000, and dealers must also post a bond notice near their dealer license. Dealers should use the template found here to comply with the notice of bond requirement. New and renewal applications for independent dealer GDNs submitted on or after September 1, 2021 will require evidence of a $50,000 bond.
The surety bond requirement applies to all GDN license types except for Trailer/Semitrailer and Non-Motorized Travel Trailer. The bond requirement does not apply to Franchised dealers issued a GDN license associated to a Franchised dealer license.
Independent Dealer Pre-Licensing Training is now available in Spanish. Go to texasdealereducation.com and click on en Español in the blue navigation bar to enroll.
House Bill 1667 was passed during the recent 86th legislative session. Beginning 9/1/2019, a GDN Motor Vehicle, Motorcycle, Travel Trailer, or Utility Trailer/Semi-Trailer license holder will be able to operate at the same locations as a Salvage Vehicle Dealer/Rebuilder without a separate Salvage license.
We Are Excited To Announce the addition of eTITLE to webDEALER. This new feature will facilitate the secure electronic transfer of titles between dealers in the wholesale market, making the title transfer process faster and easier than ever before. If you are using webDEALER, you already have access.
Texas Motor Vehicle Dealers and Other Licensees with Metal Plates: Return canceled, damaged, or unneeded metal plates to any of our 16 Regional Service Centers or the TxDMV Headquarters. To cancel metal plates login to your eLICENSING account and select “Plates & Stickers.”
In addition to reducing the potential for fraudulent use of industry license plates, this requirement provides Texas licensees a way to responsibly recycle over 4,000 industry plates every year.
For more information click the button below or contact us toll-free at 1-888-DMV-GOTX (1-888-368-4689) or at (512) 465-3000 from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Central Time, Monday through Friday.
Dealers: Please continue to return metal plates from customers’ motor vehicles to your local TAC office.
Create Buyer Tags (or other tags), process title applications and print Internet Down tags.
Access licensing information, submit license applications and payments, and track the progress of submitted applications.
Create and submit salvage and nonrepairable vehicle title applications online.